Sign In

Новини и Събития

44 Masters of Pharmacy Graduated from MU-Varna


Forty-four Masters of Pharmacy from Class 2017 at the Faculty of Pharmacy at MU-Varna received their diplomas at a formal ceremony. The event took place at Festival and Congress Centre - Varna.

Seven alumni graduated their higher education with honours. The top student of Class 2017 is M.Pharm. Krasen Tonev, who has finished his studies with excellent marks 6.00 and was awarded with Golden Galen - the highest honour of the Faculty of Pharmacy, which has been awarded for the second time in the history of the Faculty. He also received a money prize and a certificate of merit from the Rector of the University Prof. Dr. Krasimir Ivanov, as well as a money prize from the Mayor of the city of Varna Mr. Ivan Portnih. All students, graduating with honours, received prizes from the Rector of MU-Varna and from the Bulgarian Pharmaceutical Union (BPhU).

In his speech, the Rector of the University addressed the young pharmacists with the words:

"We are witnessing the birth of the fourth class of elite Masters of Pharmacy today - young, bright, ambitious. My appeal to you is not to forget that even though you have successfully accomplished one stage of your development, you are still in the very beginning. Therefore, never stop searching for the truth and the knowledge so that you will be able to go on confidently forward. Never give up the pursuit of knowledge and self-perfection in order to become better and better with each passing day. Only thus, success will always come to you, and you will be able to find genuine satisfaction with the work done."

The young specialists took the Oath of the Pharmacist, repeating the words after the Dean of the Faculty Prof. Diana Ivanova. By tradition, the Dean's award, named after Prof. Dr. Delcho Zhelyazkov, who laid the foundations of Pharmacology training in Bulgaria, was awarded as well. Prof. Krasimir Metodiev, the Head of the Department of Preclinical and Clinical Sciences and Honorary Consul of Israel to Bulgaria, whose professional path has been related to MU-Varna for 43 years, was also awarded with a prize.

M.Pharm. Silvana Petrova Petrova, who is also the founder of the Association of Pharmacy Students at MU-Varna, was awarded with a plaque and a certificate of merit for her active participation in the student life over the years of training and contribution to the promotion of the good name and prestige of the University.

This year the Faculty of Pharmacy has celebrated its 10th Anniversary. It was established by a Decision of the 40th National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria, dated 16th October 2008, and provides training for students in "Pharmacy" - Master Educational Qualification Degree.

Musical greeting to the graduates and their parents was performed by the virtuoso piano duo Hasan Ignatov and Ibrahim Ignatov and their sisters Merlin and Nermin, who are first-year medical students at MU - Varna.

Among the official guests of the event were the Member of Parliament at the 44th National Assembly Prof. Dr. Anelia Klisarova, the Deputy Mayor of Varna Municipality Mr. Todor Ivanov, the Chairperson of the Health Commission at the Municipality of Varna Assoc. Prof. Antoaneta Tsvetkova, the Vice Rector of TU-Varna Assoc. Prof. Eng. Rozalina Dimova, PhD, the Deputy Chief at N. Y. Vaptsarov Naval Academy - Varna Cap. 1st rank Prof. Svetoslav Dimitranov, the Deputy Chairperson of the Management Board of BPhU M.Pharm. Todor Naydenov, the President of the Regional Pharmaceutical College - Varna M.Pharm. Rada Pehlivanova, the honorable members of the Board of Trustees at MU-Varna, CEOs of medical institutions and health institutions.