Sign In

За нас

History and Facts

The Department of Neurological Diseases was established in March 1962. Three years later two clinics were incorporated into it – the Clinic of Neurology and the Clinic of Neurosurgery, and the unit was renamed to Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery.

In 1989 the Department was divided into two - Neurosurgery and Neurology. Since 1991 the Department of Neurology has been accommodated on the territory of Therapeutic Hospital - Varna with three clinics: 1st Neurology Clinic, 2nd Neurology Clinic with Intensive Vascular Sector and 3rd Neurology Clinic.The  therapeutic - diagnostic and research activities have brought to the establishment of laboratories and consultative medical offices. Methods of study of evoked potentials, brain mapping, 24-hour-a-day EEG have been introduced.

Today, the structure of the Department of Neurological Diseases includes two units: the First Clinic of Neurological Diseases and the Second Clinic of Neurological Diseases with intensive care treatment of Neurological Diseases.

The functional - diagnostic complex incorporates specialized consulting rooms for EEG, EMG, EP, Neurosonology, Polysomnography, Neuropsychology and Neuro-Ophthalmology. They are supplied with modern medical equipment, and profiled associates of the Department work there. The medical teams are involved and work on international projects and clinical studies and they render expertise for early diagnostics and treatment of various neurological diseases.

Heads of the Department of Neurological Diseases:

•          Prof. Dr. Raycho Koynov (1962 – 1985);

•          Prof. Dr. Petar Hubenov (1985 – 1986);

•          Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dimitar Cholakov - Head of the Department of Neurosurgery until 2000;

•          Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dimitar Minchev - Head of the Department of Neurology until 2000;

•          Assoc.Prof. Dr. Nadezhda Deleva (2000 – 2012);

•          Present head is Prof. Dr. Ara Kaprelyan.